In the past few…

In the past few weeks, I’ve eaten prettier than I have in the whole month of April put together.

I keep finding myself arranging avocado slices just so, or hulling a strawberry more carefully than usual, or attempting to make my morning breakfast dishes look like they could be straight out of Canal House Cooking.Image

Last time I was here, I told you about these lovely folks and my new gig writing these lovely things.  Aside from the enormous perks of getting to read about food all day, every day, and the leftover goodies from the test kitchen, food52 makes me want to eat beautifully, all the time.

ImageAnd it also makes me link happy, evidently.

I meant to bring you this granola a while ago, which, of course, is my justification for the recipe coming from food52. It is sheer coincidence, I promise you. We can reasonably assume, by this point, that I am biased (totally, completely, down to my shoes), but really, this granola could stand alone.

ImageImage

The recipe comes from Early Bird Foods, whose best-selling granola has taken over the dry cereal market here in New York. It’s most appropriately described, in the words of an f52 editor, as “museli after a vampy makeover.” If that doesn’t make you want to try this, I don’t know what will. This granola is sweet from the maple syrup, a touch savory from the olive oil, and best eaten straight out of the bag. Or, if you can’t wait long enough, do as I do, and eat it straight off the sheet pan minutes after it comes out of the oven. It’s good that way too. 

 

Nekisia Davis’ Olive Oil and Maple Granola

Adapted from Food52

Yield: about 7 cups, minus the handfuls you steal before it’s cool

Note: I swapped out nuts and seeds in this recipe with reckless abandon, and it still came out wonderfully. Feel free to do the same. The original recipe calls for coconut chips, which I didn’t have, but I think would make the mix that much better.

3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
1 cup pepitas
1 cup sunflower seeds
1 cup raisins
1 1/4 cup raw pecans, left whole or coarsely chopped
3/4 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
coarse salt

Heat oven to 300 degrees.

Place oats, pepitas, sunflower seeds, raisins, pecans, syrup, olive oil, sugar, and 1 teaspoon salt in a large bowl and mix until well combined. Spread granola mixture in an even layer on a rimmed baking sheet.

Transfer to oven and bake, stirring every 10-15 minutes, until granola is toasted, about 45 minutes. 

Remove granola from oven and season with more salt to taste. Let cool completely before serving or storing in an airtight container for up to 1 month.

Comments
One Response to “In the past few…”

Leave a Reply

